Jane Guide.

Here's all the help you need to use Jane.


Re-setting Insurance Claim Counts/Limits

Individual Claim Re-set

When a client comes in for a new year and wants to either continue working with their current insurance coverage you can ask Jane to copy their open or closed claim from last year and start it over again for the new year (see why below).

From the patient’s Billing tab you can head to the Claims area and work with their claims.

Claims needs to be highlighted in blue, and then you can choose to update the claim using the orange drop down.

What Happens?

If you do this you will close the claim for the year, and duplicate them for the current year with all the same information (maximums, claims numbers etc).

You’ll have a closed claim for last year and an open claim now with an end date for the end of the current calendar year.

Why?

You would want to reset the claim to keep the invoices and payments for the correct year attached to the correct claim.

Now when you view the old claim it will have only visits from the last year and when you use the fresh claim it will be attached to visits from the current year.

Batch Re-set

Batch re-setting Claims for the New Year is something that can be managed on Billing Tab in the Insurer Invoices section. A bit time sensitive so if you’ve missed the first few weeks of January probably best to manage them individually as noted above.

Certain insurers have limits that re-set January 1st - such as extended benefits. Remember that you would not need to reset claims for MVAs or Workers Comp claims as these usually aren’t affected by the calendar year.

Claims List

There’s a Claims tab on each Insurer’s Billing screen.

Billing

Choose your Insurer

Then head to Claims

Filter

The list defaults to all your claims, but you can use the filter to display just open claims (or only closed claims). You can also search here for specific claims by their number. For re-setting the claims for the New Year you likely only want to work with your open claims since a closed claim could mean that the client no longer uses that insurance or is no longer eligible.

Because Jane is running online, results are paginated to lower the load time. So you will see the first 25 claims on your screen, but if you’d like to load up all of them you’ll need to scroll down and keep clicking on the “load more” to show ALL of your open claims on your screen. Here you can see that I’m up to 75 of 208 claims.

Once they are all loaded you won’t see a counter at the bottom any more.

Batch Updating

I’ve loaded up all my Open Claims but it will still say “0” until I choose the claims.

When a claim is selected it will appear on your screen highlighted in blue. I can click the “Select All” button to highlight all 208 open claims.

Important Note Remember that any claims you’ve created in the current calendar year will also be included on this list. You probably don’t want to reset those ones too - so be sure to DE-SELECT those ones before you click the Reset button. Or if you’re already well into the calendar year you can reset the claims individually when needed from the patient’s Claims area of their billing area.

And then I can use the drop down to “Reset for 2017”.

Deleting extra claims

If you accidentally end up with duplicate claims because you’ve batch duplicated a claim that was already created in 2017 then you can delete the extra claim.

Click on the “View” button at the end of the line, then Edit.

From there you’ll get a red Delete button.

Make sure you only delete claims that haven’t been used.

If you have any questions let us know!

Happy New Year :)