Jane Guide.

Here's all the help you need to use Jane.


Staff Access Levels

You will often want to grant people different levels of access to your Jane account.

Jane offers you several ways to increase the Privacy of your account levels.

Account Level

When you set up your staff members for the first time you will be able to set a base level of access in their “Permissions and Commissions” Area.

And then to the Role Dropdown.

Let’s talk about what the different levels mean.

1. No Access

This is the lowest level of access and would make sense for a staff member or practitioner who has left your clinic. When set to “No Access” this staff member will have absolutely no way to access the administrative side of Jane, although they will still be able to book in as a patient using the Online Booking if you have that available to your patients.

2. Practitioner (Limited)

This is the most basic access level at which a Practitioner/Front Desk can only see their own schedule. The client list is also scoped to only those that have had an appointment with them in the past. All of the client’s profiles are also scoped to only appointments and invoices belonging to that therapist.

As with below there’s no access to the Settings Tab or to Permissions and Commissions.

3. Practitioner/Front Desk and Practitioner/Front Desk (All locations)

At this level there’s a number of areas of Jane that aren’t accessible. This is the most common access level for Practitioners or Therapists.

There is no access to your Settings Tab. So when logged in at this level you wouldn’t see the Settings tab at all.

This level of access also has no access to Permissions and Commissions on their own profile and cannot edit other staff members in anyway.

Here’s what the Staff Profiles look like to someone logged in at this level:

And Reports only populate for their own Billing Info as do patient’s Billing Info:

You can see that the filter is set to All Staff, but only the Invoices for this practitioner will appear.

This level of access CAN still see the schedule for all practitioners and book appointments.

The only difference that Practitioner/Front Desk (All locations) enables is that staff with this role can see the schedule and book appointments at locations they are not listed at. The regular Practitioner role cannot see locations (and therefore can’t book appointments) at locations they’re not listed at.

4. Front Desk

This level is nearly identical to Practitioner: no access to settings or staff permissions, and reports only populate for their own billing info. This is the most common access level for reception.

In addition to Practitioner abilities, the Front Desk can also run the Transaction report so these staff members can handle the end of day procedures.

This level of access CAN still see the schedule for all practitioners and book appointments.

5. Administrator/All Billing

This is the next level of access and tends to be the one given to most front desk staff so that they can work with Cash Outs and other daily reconciliations.

While they still do not have access to the complete Settings tab, they do get partial access for more administrative duties.

Here’s what the Settings area looks like when logged in at this level:

You can see that they have access to Treatments, Billing Codes, Products and Teleplan Info if you’re in BC. This allows Administrative Staff to manage the day to day running of the clinic.

They also will have full access to all Billing Info on reports such as the Transaction report which is used to reconcile payments at the end of the day and the Sales report to review all invoices created that day.

6. Full Access

Important to note that in the past, Full Access users had nothing hidden from them. So even if a staff member had their notes set to “My Eyes Only” - those with Full Access accounts could have still been able to see those entries. This is no longer the case.

Still, you would want this level of access as the account owner, and often a trusted office manager might also be given this setting. Full access users still have full access to all settings and preferences, but they now need to be given permission by the treating practitioner to see clinical notes of patients or clients that they are not directly treating.

Other Restrictions

There’s a few other more granular restrictions you can place on Staff Profiles.

1.Chart Access

This will completely disable the Staff from accessing any charts. This might be for a bookkeeper or other non-clinical staff who have no reason to work with charts. Keep in mind that admin staff often require chart access so that they can upload scanned documents and that you can work with chart privacy levels from within the Staff’s Settings area.

2.Manage Shifts

Make the Shift button disappear - staff won’t be able to add, delete or modify shifts on the Schedule.

3.Access Billing

The Staff member will lose the Billing tab all together. Keep in mind that if you disable Billing on a Staff Member’s profile they will not be able to receive payment from patients. They will have no financial access at all.

I hope that helps you understand the different access levels in Jane.

As always, let us know if you have questions!